Creativity · Just Another Personality

Let Them Eat Cheesecake

I have always wanted to make a cheesecake.  Alas, I did not have a springform pan… until this past Tuesday.  After almost 16 years of marriage, I have splurged and ordered from Amazon one and although it took me a few minutes to figure out how to remove the circular side from it’s bottom – I did figure it out eventually and was delighted.  What a brilliant contraption!  And I have one! 

We have a patient at work who has been coming in weekly for post operative care.  This patient is an AMAZING baker.  She brought us a lovely snickerdoodle/cream cheese confection the first week post operatively.  The second week, she brought a chocolate upon chocolate cookies.  cheesecake This patient has brought us cheesecake in the past – the best I have ever had.  And because I am becoming bolder and more selfish the closer I get to 40, I begged her, unashamedly, to ignore the pain & swelling in her foot and bake us a cheesecake.  And so she did.  I have been eating cheesecake every evening since Wednesday and will continue to eat it a few more.  If I don’t gain a couple of pounds by next Wednesday, I’m not sure what I can do to add extra insulation to these pathetic bones.  All I have been doing these past few evenings is sit on my sofa, watch TV, eat cheesecake, and drink a lovely glass of red wine. 

I was so excited to make my own cheesecake and finally took the time to do so last evening.  I am such a competitive and prideful person.  I was hoping my cheesecake would be better than this seasoned baker’s (why do I always aim too high?).  Had I not ever had hers, my cheesecake would have been the best I have ever had {*snort*}.  It’s with a dejected heart that I admit, my cheesecake is not as good. 

5 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cheesecake

  1. Good for you, my friend! I’ll bet you are being a little bit humble and that your cheesecake is amazing, even if not as perfect as your seasoned baker’s version. By all means, do put some “extra insulation ” on those beautiful bones of yours! I miss your face! I hope all is well in your world. There is much joy in mine these wintery days! (-;
    Sending warm hugs to you!
    Love, Renee’

    1. I am so tickled to hear that, Reneé!! That has made my weekend! We are doing well, gearing up for Spring Lacrosse and planning a couple camping trips. Hugs!

Give it to me!

