life with kids

Uh, Is Today The 1st Day?

My kids have been back in school for a week now.  I don’t know what it’s like where you live, but in our area, it was an early start to the school year.  If all goes according to plan, (meaning no foul weather cancelations), the last day of school will be June 2nd, I think.  This is a few days earlier than what is typical. 

I’ve been doing this school thing now for a handful of years (as a mother), and this year has been the laziest one of all.  I lack drive, quite honestly I believe I lack interest.  Maybe it’s because our Summer seemed so short.  Maybe it’s because I’m an old hat at this game and figure there’s nothing to it, preparing the kids for the school year is automatic.  Maybe it’s because I want to live a life of simplicity. Maybe it’s because I really don’t care.  Whatever it is, here’s what we did do to become prepared:

Ethan got a haircut (only because he requested it), socks, underwear, gym shorts, some folders, sneakers.  Noel got – uh, what did she get?  Oh yeah, hairbands.  I wrote a check out for lunch money.  I think they had clean clothes to wear on the first day, but don’t quote me on that.  No first day photos (they wouldn’t have let me even if I would have tried) and no special breakfast (I gave Noel an ibuprofen though, that was nice of me).  I don’t make them lunches.  And this year, I refuse to buy school pictures.  Each year, I read less and less of the papers that come home the first day, the thousand that need to be signed by adult and child.  We just sign where we need to and make sure there’s a phone number somewhere in case they need to reach us.  Oh, Trina?  You’re an emergency contact.  I forgot to tell you.  But you’re number 3, so don’t worry.

Don’t get me wrong, my hubby and I are involved.  We’ve gone to countless meetings, field trips, volunteered in the classroom, visit on family visitation day each year (yawn…), email teachers, phone conferences, the nurse has my number on speed dial.  We are proud of our students.  They work hard.  The grades on their report cards are due to their own efforts.  But even better than their hard work ethic is the way they treat their peers and those in authority. 

I guess I’m just trying to catch up to the moment.  I’m stuck back in the Summer (which technically isn’t over until September 22nd), confused because I feel like we’ve just entered it.  I’m still thinking about vacations and the need for more.   

I typically thrive on the structure and routine that the school year brings, but for some reason, I’m just not feeling it yet.  When will things kick in?  Tomorrow.  I’m sure it will be tomorrow.

Such cuties, back when they didn’t mind their pictures taken:

192

4 thoughts on “Uh, Is Today The 1st Day?

  1. I love how you think out loud and share your life with us. Yes, summer is like a vapor and always goes by way too quickly. I hate that, too. My favorite season: so fleeting! We’ll try not to think about that till mid-September. I think it’s a good idea to get stuck there a while longer. Savor it. I hope you get to go camping several more times and get to fully enjoy this temporary season of denial. Have a smore or two for me.

    Cuties, indeed! They still are! You have good reason to be proud parents. You both have done well! I enjoyed meeting your precious family, including Gracie. Hopefully she won’t get so excited next time! I enjoy you, my friend! Hugs and holy kisses!

    1. So right – Summer is a vapor! I LOVE Fall, but it seems so far away yet.

      We are keeping our fingers crossed – hoping Jason’s request off for the 3rd Friday in September is granted, hoping to camp in Gettysburg.

      I’m so glad you could meet my family and they could meet you – my sweet friend! I will make and eat a s’more in your honor! 🙂

Give it to me!

