life with kids · My Hubby

IT’S MARCH!

This is the first warm day we’ve had in months.  The snow and ice are melting.  And the mud muck is unavoidable – my apologies to Jason who tried so hard to keep my newly washed vehicle clean yesterday.  You did amazing – it was me.  I refuse to crawl up the mud driveway with the speed of a slug.  It kills me.  I can’t do it.  And though I will risk our lives by taking pictures while driving, I will not risk our lives by swerving into the other lane to avoid the pond in mine.

Lacrosse season has started!  But because of the snow on the fields, they are practicing on the black top.  I’m looking forward to watching Ethan play.  He has grown so much this year.  His voice has lowered and he has a little mustache.  In all honesty, it kind of creeps me out.  Where is the boy?  I swear we had a boy around here just a few months ago.  I don’t know if I’m ready for this.  How tall is this kid going to get?  I have to stand on my toes to hug him. Kind of funny; Today, I found the long-lost paddle utilized in dispensing discipline once-in-a-while when they were younger .  That thing has been missing for years. I’m glad those days are over.  Now all we have to do is take away all screens (video/TV) and that is punishment enough.

With the beginning of March and today’s fine weather, I’m looking forward to moving on from Winter and starting SPRING!  I can’t wait to see flowers and buds on the trees.  I’ll be taking my camera outside a little more often.  We must turn our clocks ahead tonight/tomorrow morning.  That means an hour boost of sunlight into the evening!

Spring is the start of new projects.  In a couple of weeks, while hubby is away on his 5 day fishing trip in Tennessee, I will be painting my kitchen cabinets.  Good-bye hideous orange oak!  Hello calming gray!  I will document my adventure here. I am in the midst of choosing the shade – who knew there were so many varieties!  Wish me luck, send me good vibes, and pray for me friends.   Those who know I’m going to paint my cabinets look at me with a mix of apprehension and amazement.  I’m not sure why.  I don’t think it’s going to be that tedious a task. Right?

Give it to me!

