Creativity · Pic-A-Day

Funky Fun With Shutter Speed

I just finished experimenting with my camera.  I discovered what can happen when I slow down the shutter speed and zoom in/zoom out while the picture is being exposed.  It’s so much fun! 

 

Here is what I started with – meet my funky snowman made by the artist daughter of the doctor I work for – isn’t he cute?  I love his black eye.  He got into some trouble.  This picture was taken under manual settings of which I forget.  A big aperture, somewhat high ISO (it’s nighttime inside), slowish shutter speed.  

DSC_0408

 

 

 

Now, look what happens when I slow the shutter speed waaay down (like 10 seconds) and zoom in slowly.  I decreased the ISO and aperture with this shot since so much light is able to get through and with each of the following, I tried to focus my focus point on his black eye (I could have done a better job had I found my tripod I think):

DSC_0430

(aw, look at his cute little face within his face!)

 

 

I think the shutter speed is 4 seconds in this one:

DSC_0427

 

 

 

This is what it looks like when I pan out:

DSC_0434

 

Oh my gosh, what else can I do?  Anybody got any cool tricks to share?

2 thoughts on “Funky Fun With Shutter Speed

Give it to me!

