Uncategorized

The Big Apple

Corner NYC
Image via Wikipedia

The first time my feet touched the sidewalks of New York City was the last time and that was a little more than ten years ago – probably closer to 13.  It was before the first kid came along and few months after I married my man.  My mom and I took a very nerve wracking bus trip with her fellow bank workers to be entertained by the Rockette’s and mesmerized by the beauty of steel architecture.  The bus driver was learning how to drive – he was a bit unaccustomed to changing gears, grinding them so badly I thought the bus would lose brakes and we’d have a “Speed” situation on our hands (minus the bomb and Keanu).

Too scared to take the subway, mom and I stuck to the famous streets before the evening’s show.  We waited in line FOREVER to eat lunch at some place overlooking some famous street.  Don’t ask me what I ordered (probably chicken fingers) or if it was tasty.  I didn’t let the food sit too long on my tastebuds before pushing it down my throat, trying to ease the hunger pains as quickly as possible.  I doubt I ordered an alcoholic beverage, as this was before I found a taste for wine and whiskey.  Looking back, I regret not ordering a Long Island ice tea.  What was I thinking?

I was getting pretty cold as the evening approached, so what else was there to do but go to Macy’s?  It was the first time I was ever in a Macy’s.  York, our York here in PA, has a Macy’s at the West Manchester Mall.  When Macy’s came to the West Manchester Mall I was highly disappointed in them.  They must have fallen on hard times to have come to us.  Lancaster?  I could see that a little more easily.  York?  WTH?  It makes the grey fleece I bought that day (and still wear faithfully with a smile on my face) in NYC a little more cheap, 2nd classish. 

English: Macy's Department Store in New York City.
Image via Wikipedia

Macy’s in NYC has wooden escalators.  I thought that was pretty cool.

NYC has a beauty that is of the level I see here in my countryside everyday.  My thoughts, as I looked straight up, attempting to see the top of the skyscrapers from the puny height of 5′ 3″, was that this too, was beautiful. I mean beautiful. Driving away from NYC that night, in the bus with the scary driver and the burned out breaks, I looked out my window (mom gave me the window seat) and watched the city sky line.  I loved the lights, the river, the bridge.  There was and is so much more of this city that mom and I want to see.  Mom, we need to go back.  Maybe during the summer this time. 

This was supposed to be a post about how I believe I could live almost anywhere.  I didn’t realize how much space my 1st NYC trip would consume here on this page.  I’ll have to write about that another night. 

What are your memories of NYC?  What big city have you been to/lived in?

6 thoughts on “The Big Apple

  1. I don’t want to give it to you – I like reading about what’s in your soul or in your head!!
    🙂 Love you, Em!! Keep on bloggin!!!

  2. Dude, I’ve been to about 25 states, four different countries, LIVED in 5 states and various different places within those states, and I’ve never, ever been there. (Except if you count flying out of Kennedy, but I only saw some sites from a bus and was dumped right into the airport, so I don’t count it.) I’m the only one in my entire family that’s never been there.

    Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…

    Loved your thoughts on it! And I wish you had photos of you and your mom when you took the trip when you were barely even ABLE to legally drink a Long Island iced tea!!!

    1. YOU could probably live anywhere Leslie! I would love to travel around some day like that – but I really hate flying. I’m going to take the train.

      4 different countries? Which ones? I’ve only been to 3. Canada, Bahamas, and New Mexico. 😉

  3. Wow, great post. Brought back memories for me. The first time I was in NYC, I was at an Illustrator’s conference with four of my workmates. Not that we were illustrators, mind you, but were designers who oftentimes assigned illustrators to do editorial work for the magazine we worked on. The company has since gone bankrupt, but I’ll not take responsibility for that… we did not abuse our per diem {okay, we did, but still}. The next year I went, I was about 7 months pregnant and rather rotund. I met a friend there {for the same conference} and we caught up on all things work related. There was some weird tension in the air… I was recently married and expecting our first child, yet there was this regret thing going on between us even though we never hinted at a relationship… I think maybe he was feeling this “what if” and then I could feel it. It was weird and kind of scary. I didn’t reconnect with him again until about 20 years later…via facebook. He’s married and has the most beautiful kids, and his wife sends me Christmas cards. {sorry for the weird memory}
    The third time I was in NYC, I was on choir tour with my kids. We stayed in an international hostel. Interesting to have gone from the Grammercy Park Hotel to a youth hostel and NYC on two nickles. It was a blast. We did fun touristy things and met some really awesome, interesting people in all kinds of situations… homeless, veterans, drug addicts… it was very eclectic and rich beyond our wildest imaginations.

    1. Wow! You’ve got some entertaining (for me) memories! Why does the word “hostel” sound so angry? It doesn’t sound like a very welcoming place – but it’s exactly that (in your experience – I’ve never been to one). Cool – thanks for sharing!

Give it to me!

