CAMPING · POW life

Copy Paste Camping

 

I don’t know when we’re going camping next.  We’d have gone twice by now; once over Mother’s day weekend and once over Memorial.  It’s so sad.  I’m envious of my old patients who go camping all summer.  They have the life.  When will I be 70?  It’s not fair (stomping my feet right now).

We’ve been waiting for over 2 years for Jason to start this whole new career.  We were aware that there’d be major life adjustments as far as schedule and vacation are concerned.  But now we’re beginning to live it out – these adjustments.  And it stinks.  I can’t help but feel left out.  Just like when the kids get out of school for summer vacation and I hear from friends on how they’re anticipating having their kids home everyday all day for a few months.  A large part of me wants so badly to be able to experience the same thing.  I want to connect with my friends and family.  To bond. 

This is turning out to be a post on something I am unprepared to write on.  But I will – one day.  I just need to be able to write it in a way that doesn’t come across as whining, complaining, & a “pity me” type feel to it.  I think I need to write that kind of thing out to God.  He’ll set my attitude right.  Not that I’ll write a post in a place where I’ll have it all figured out and be totally cool with it.  I’m not going to lie.  I have a feeling it’s going to take a while before I’m okay with this new life style.  I don’t even know what all it encompasses yet, this life as a working outside the home POW (police officer’s wife). 

I’ve just added a new category to the mix: POW life.  I have a feeling there’s going to be a few posts on that topic.  But before I get too deeply into this topic which I’m barely certified to write on, let me send you over to my old blog where you’ll read about my extreme summer camping trip last year

Click here or up there.  If I can’t go camping, I’ll relive it in my mind.  Copy paste slap it to this year. 

annapolis 003

annapolis 009

Ahhhh, the good old days of vacation.  (okay, that’s to be taken as a “pity me” sentence.  Please pity now.)

4 thoughts on “Copy Paste Camping

  1. “THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER…..” AS THE OLD SAYING GOES….So many times in our lives we want to look back to those “good ol’ days” and feel that we are missing out
    We all have done that. But you have a very limitted idea of what your life will be like in this stage. Alot is what you make it. You said you like your job and you are getting good at it and even training someone! I could go on about what you have going for you right now – suffice it to say – it is what you make it. Paul says that in whatsoever state he is in, he has learned to be content. Maybe his state isn’t PA!!! 🙂 It takes work, but you will see that
    God gives you so many new experiences in your new situation that you wouldn’t have had any other way. And you sure don’t want to miss out on them. Hang in there POW – Shannon used to called me that because I was backwards – WIFE OF PASTOR….
    You are doing great!!

    1. Thanks mom ~ I thought of POW for a pastor’s wife too (just backwards). That can’t be easy. Glad I’m not one those 🙂 I’d probably knock a few heads together…

  2. I hope I can say with certainty, “this too shall pass”. I don’t know if that’s true, Emily, but I am sorry that your summer will be a little different (read:crappy) this year.

    I’m probably not the only ones who is feeling guilty right now that I counted how many more weeks until school starts. 🙂

    I do wish you could enjoy the lazy days of summer with your kids – hang in there.

    1. I’m smiling at your comment right now Kirsten!

      I used to both dread & look forward to Summers when I was home full time with the kids. Now I miss being home because I wish for freedom with them. But I DO NOT miss the insanity. I’m glad I’m away from that! I’m looking forward to school starting so I don’t have to depend on family so much for childcare, but I don’t want to wish the Summer away because I love this time of year. 6 more months and Christmas will be over. 🙂

Give it to me!

