God & Such

Streams In The Wasteland

From Isaiah 43

“…Fear not for I have redeemed you;

I have summoned you by name; you

are mine.

When you pass through the waters,

I will be with you;

and when you pass through the rivers,

they will not sweep over you.

When you walk through the fire,

you will not be burned;

the flames will not set you ablaze.

For I am the Lord, your God,

the Holy One of Israel, your Savior …”

“Forget the former things;

do not dwell on the past.

See, I am doing a new thing!

Now it springs up; do you not

perceive it?

I am making a way in the desert

and streams in the wasteland…”

 

I had forgotten about the post I sent you to yesterday.  It kind of gives me chills. 

 

So that’s what I’m expecting God to do. That’s what I’m waiting for. Rivers in the badlands, streams in the desert. An Eden out of the wasteland. So I’m going to stay home (Lord, don’t make me get a job!) & focus on that. Being alert & present. Because Satan is in the guilt that paralyzes. And God’s got bigger things for me.

That post was written more than a year before Jason would enter into the police consortium testing process, more than a year before Michelle died, and almost 2 years before I would start my new job.  He sees the bigger picture doesn’t he?  And so he should, he’s the artist. 

That year that I stayed home, God taught me how to just be with him.  He taught me how to be quiet.  How to enjoy his presence without having any expectations.  It was a sweet year, as I learned how to experience God’s love a little more deeper. 

He knew that I would need that year.  He knew that what he taught me, such as his deep love for me, would be the one thing that I would return to after I was done wrestling him.  It was the one thing that I never questioned.  It was the only thing about him that I knew to be true.

Here is another verse that stuck with me over the past couple of years:

Hosea 2:19,20

I will betroth you to me forever;

I will betroth you in righteousness

and justice,

in love and compassion,

I will betroth you in faithfulness,

and you will acknowledge the Lord.

 

He is good.  But he is so much more.

6 thoughts on “Streams In The Wasteland

    1. He’s beyond our comprehension – yet he wants us to know him. As we go through these different times in our lives, whether good or bad, he invites us to know him – shows us & allows us to experience a different part of himself.

      I’ve been thinking and praying for you Lisa!

      1. Thanks Emily….Isaiah43….This passage I claimed after my cancer and the loss of my mom. Even tonight when my heart is heavy these words bring comfort…You are mine…Maya is His…

  1. Dana, as I was writing that passage I remembered you talking about it. I think of those verses as yours and it kinda felt like I was borrowing them from you! 🙂

    Thinkin’ of you guys.

Give it to me!

